Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
    Wednesday, October 01, 2014
Protocol Office
1831 College Avenue

Phone: 306-787-8965
Toll free: 1-877-427-5505
Fax: 306-787-1269
Did You Know?

The Province of Saskatchewan has Canada’s second largest honours and awards program, next to Ontario.

In 1995, the Government of Saskatchewan established a decoration to recognize the volunteer sector on the occasion of the province's 90th anniversary: the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal. Saskatchewan has the highest rate of volunteerism in Canada.  Each volunteer reaches outside his or her personal activities to help others and make daily life in our province better for everyone.  Formal recognition of volunteers is a way both of expressing the gratitude of the community and of presenting role models to the people of the province.

While the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, established in 1985 as the province's highest honour, does recognize volunteer or community service, this is only one among many fields of endeavour for which the Order is bestowed.  Prior to 1995 the volunteer sector in Saskatchewan was not adequately recognized by the provincial government.

Criteria and selection
The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal may be awarded to Canadian citizens who are present or former long-term residents of Saskatchewan, with the exception of elected members of Parliament or the Legislature or members of the judiciary while still holding office.  The recipient must have provided, without reward or gain, outstanding volunteer service or exceptional community involvement in an area that is beyond the performance of the individual's normal duties or the exercise of the responsibilities of a profession to which that individual belongs.

A public call for nominations is made annually.  Only individuals may be nominated. Posthumous nominations are not accepted. Any individual or group may submit a nomination. The Saskatchewan Honours Advisory Council recommends recipients from among the nominations received.

Designed by Jack Glasser of Regina, winner of a provincial competition, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal is silver, circular in form, and suspended by a V-shaped clasp from a ribbon of green and gold, the provincial colours.  It bears the Saskatchewan shield of arms with the Crown and the motto Nos ipsos dedimus (We Gave of Ourselves).  Recipients also receive a circular silver lapel pin displaying the Saskatchewan shield of arms superimposed on a "V,"  a certificate, and are entitled to use the post-nominal letters S.V.M.  The medal is presented by the Lieutenant Governor in an annual ceremony.

The names of the recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are inscribed on a board adjacent to the Athabasca Gallery on the second floor of the Legislative Building.

National status
In 1998 the Government of Canada accorded status to the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal after national and provincial orders, under other national decorations and medals.  This means that recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are entitled to wear it on national occasions and recipients of Canada's national honours who also receive Saskatchewan honours may wear both in the sequence approved by the Governor General.

Related Documents
SVMbrochure.pdf  ( 134.3 KB )

© 2014 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.